This Is the Part Where You Laugh

by Hoffmeister, Peter Brown (Author), Brown Hoffmeister, Peter (Author)

ISBN: 9780553538106

Rising sophomore Travis and his best friend, Creature, spend a summer in a Eugene, Oregon, trailer park dealing with cancer, basketball, first love, addiction, gang violence, and a reptilian infestation.

Age Range: From 14 to 99

Format: Hardcover, 336 pages

Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers, May 2016

Product Dimensions: 8.25 L × 5.5 W × 0.94 H

Publisher Marketing: Publisher Marketing: Fans of Andrew Smith and Matt de la Pena will be captivated by this summer-in-the-life of a teenage guy growing up in a trailer park in Eugene, Oregon.

Travis plans to spend the summer as follows:

Working on his basketball game with his friend, Creature.

Reading excerpts from Creature's novel-in-progress: The Pervert's Guide to Russian Princesses.

Canoeing around the lake, trying to catch a glimpse of the beautiful girl who just moved in.

Not getting into trouble, not going back to juvie . . .

Searching the homeless camps for his mother, with a jar full of cash to help her get back on her feet.

From a powerful new voice in YA literature comes an unforgettable account of growing up, making mistakes, and growing out of the shadow of drug abuse.

Profane and profound... A raw offbeat novel with an abundance of honesty and heart. Publishers Weekly, starred review

So real it hurts. David Arnold, author of Mosquitoland

Hoffmeister crushes it.There is blood and truth on every page. Estelle Laure, author ofThis Raging Light

* Subject to availability