The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics - Large Print

by Brown, Daniel James (Author)

ISBN: 9781594137792

Format: Large Print, 741 pages

Publisher: Large Print Press, June 2014

Product Dimensions: 8.5 L × 5.5 W × 1.5 H

Publisher Marketing: Publisher Marketing: For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit and Unbroken, the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics

Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936.

* Subject to availability