The Dragon Warrior

by Zhao, Katie (Author)

ISBN: 9781547602001

As a member of the Jade Society, twelve-year-old Faryn Liu dreams of becoming a warrior. But the Society shuns Faryn and her brother due to their half-Chinese heritage, forcing them to train in secret. Then, during an errand into San Francisco's Chinatown, Faryn runs into a demon-and helps defeat it. In truth, she's the fabled Heaven Breaker, meant to work with the gods, command dragons, and wage war against demons-if she can prove herself by finding the gods' island home before the Lunar New Year ends. Faryn and some unlikely allies set off on a quest across Chinatowns. But becoming the Heaven Breaker will require sacrifices. What will Faryn have to give up to claim her destiny? This richly woven contemporary fantasy-the first in a series-is perfect for fans of Roshani Chokshi and Sayatani DasGupta. Macmillan Kids Only (All Imprints) Fall 2019

Age Range: From 8 to 11

Format: Hardcover, 352 pages

Publisher: Bloomsbury Children's Books, October 2019

Product Dimensions: 8.3 L × 5.5 W × 0 H

* Subject to availability