Cure for the Common Universe

by Heidicker, Christian McKay (Author)

ISBN: 9781481450270

Jaxon meets the girl of his dreams on the same day that his father ships him off to video game rehab. Now he must earn 1 million therapy points in a week if he wants to be released from rehab in time for his date--

Age Range: From 14 to 99

Format: Hardcover, 320 pages

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, June 2016

Product Dimensions: 8.2 L × 5.7 W × 1.1 H

Publisher Marketing: Publisher Marketing: Prepare to be cured by this quirky and hilarious debut novel about a sixteen-year-old loner who is sent to rehab for video game addiction perfect for fans of Ned Vizzini and Jesse Andrews.

Sixteen-year-old Jaxon is being committed to video game rehab ten minutes after meeting a girl. A living, breathing girl named Serena, who not only laughed at his jokes but actually kinda sorta seemed excited when she agreed to go out with him.

Jaxon s first date. Ever.

In rehab, Jaxon can t blast his way through galaxies to reach her. He can t slash through armies to kiss her sweet lips. Instead, he has four days to earn one million points by learning real-life skills. And he ll do whatever it takes lie, cheat, steal, even learn how to cross-stitch in order to make it to his date.

If all else fails, Jaxon will have to bare his soul to the other teens in treatment, confront his mother s absence, and maybe admit that it s more than video games that stand in the way of a real connection.

From a bright new voice in young adult literature comes the story of a young man with a serious case of arrested development and carpal tunnel syndrome who is about to discover what real life is all about.

* Subject to availability